Fudge Croissant Donut – Dunkin Donuts

IMG_0469

I wasn’t looking for trouble. I didn’t want to stir up any controversy. I just wanted a cup of mediocre coffee-like beverage in my refill cup. I was going to pay my $1.05 and walk away. No one would get hurt. Then, something strange happened. I was lured by a huge sign encouraging me to give into fudgy decadence and get a new Fudge Croissant Donut from Dunkin Donuts. Being the highly-suggestable shopper that I am, I ordered one immediately.

Upon closer inspection, I learned this treat is a modified Cronut with the chocolate and glaze drizzle after being pumped full of the thick chocolate filling that would normally be found atop the Boston Kreme donut. It is a little bigger than the standard donut with a similar weight. So, was is good?

It’s actually quite tough to say. It was sweet. It was chocolatey. I polished it off in about 7 bites in less than 28 seconds. The surge of sugar, fat, and carbs left my brain in a state of eating euphoria. So, was it good?

The truth is that it doesn’t matter if it was good or not. At $2.49 and 400 calories, you don’t want it to be good. Truthfully, there are MANY other options that are a better deal calorically and financially, but the delicacy is worth an attempt.

Here’s what I suggest: Buy two and eat one immediately. Take the other home and stick it in the microwave for 10 – 12 seconds. I think the warmth will serve this cronut well.

Let me know how it tastes. Until then …

IMG_0470

Consume.Review.Repeat. gives the Dunkin Donuts Fudge Croissant Donut 6.5 bypassed arteries out of 10.

 

Leave a comment